Umpire Kumar Dharmasena, who awarded England six runs from a freak overthrow in the last over of the World Cup final, has admitted he made a “judgemental error” and should have given one run fewer, a report said Sunday.
On the third ball of the last over, a throw to the stumps deflected off the bat of a diving Ben Stokes as he was completing a second run and raced to the boundary. Six runs were awarded.
The scores were tied at the end of 50 overs as England reached 241 all out replying to New Zealand’s 241-8, taking the game to a Super Over. The scores were tied after the Super Over as well but England lifted the trophy by virtue of having scored more boundaries.
Former umpire Simon Taufel had said England should have been awarded five runs, not six, as the batsmen had not crossed for the second run at the moment the ball was thrown.
Sri Lankan umpire Dharmasena admitted to the Sunday Times that he made a mistake but said he did not have the benefit of television replays.
“I agree that there was an error of judgement when I see it on TV replays now,” said Dharmasena, who was umpiring the final with South Africa’s Marais Erasmus.
“But we did not have the luxury of TV replays at the ground and and I will never regret the decision I made. Besides the ICC praised me for the decision I made at that time.”
Dharmasena said there was no provision in the law to refer the decision to the third umpire and he signalled six after consulting the other match officials.
“There is no provision in the law to refer this to the third umpire as no dismissal was involved,” he told the newspaper.
“So, I did consult the leg umpire through the communication system which is heard by all other umpires and the match referee. And, while they cannot check TV replays, they all confirmed that the batsmen have completed the run. This is when I made my decision.”