Rohit leads in place of unfit Kohli; South Africa bowl

Rohit Sharma leads India in Virat Kohli’s absence as South Africa opt to bowl

Toss South Africa chose to bowl v India

JP Duminy opted to chase in the final match of the series against India – a game South Africa must win if they are to claim a second trophy. India are also after doubling their silverware – they won the ODIs 5-1 and the opening T20, but go into the last match without their captain, Virat Kohli, who has a stiff lower back. Rohit Sharma will captain in his absence.

India made two other changes with Axar Patel brought for Yuzvendra Chahal and Jasprit Bumrah for Jaydev Unadkat. Dinesh Kartik was included as an extra batsman in Kohli’s place.

South Africa also made three changes, including to their top two. David Miller was promoted to open the batting in JJ Smuts’ place, which made room for Christiaan Jonker to debut in the middle order. The hosts opted for two spinners in Aaron Phangiso, who gets his first game of the series, and Tabraiz Shamsi. Junior Dala, Chris Morris and Andile Phehlukwayo make up a three-pronged pace pack.

South Africa: 1 David Miller, 2 Reeza Hendricks, 3 JP Duminy (capt), 4 Heinrich Klaasen (wk) 5 Farhaan Berhadien, 6 Christiaan Jonker, 7 Chris Morris, 8 Andile Phehlukwayo, 9 Aaron Phangiso, 10 Junior Dala, 11 Tabraiz Shamsi

India: 1 Rohit Sharma (capt), 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Suresh Raina, 4 Manish Pandey, 5 MS Dhoni (wk), 6 Dinesh Karthik, 7 Hardik Pandya, 8 Axar Patel, 9 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 10 Shardul Thakur, 11 Jasprit Bumrah

Article source:


Related posts

Ameen, Sandhu, Baig give Pakistan women historic series win

Times of News

PCB board meeting abandoned as five members demand MD Wasim Khan removal

Times of News

CSA resolves to put T20 Global League back on track

Times of News