New Zealand opt to bowl first, Astle makes ODI debut

Toss: New Zealand chose to bowl v West Indies

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson chose to bowl first after winning the toss in the first ODI in Whangarei. The hosts opted for four fast bowlers, including Doug Bracewell who returned for his first international game since pleading guilty to a drink-driving offence earlier this year.

Legspinner Todd Astle, New Zealand’s only specialist spinner, made his ODI debut. Left-arm spinner Mitchell Santner was left out.

Ronsford Beaton, playing his first international match, was included as part of a fast-bowling quartet that also had Kesrick Williams, Shannon Gabriel and Jason Holder, who served out a one-game suspension in the second Test in Hamilton for a slow over-rate.

New Zealand: 1 George Worker, 2 Colin Munro, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Tom Latham (wk), 6 Henry Nicholls, 7 Doug Bracewell, 8 Todd Astle, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Trent Boult, 11 Lockie Ferguson

West Indies: 1 Chris Gayle, 2 Evin Lewis, 3 Shai Hope (wk), 4 Shimron Hetmyer, 5 Jason Mohammed, 6 Rovman Powell, 7 Jason Holder (capt), 8 Ashley Nurse, 9 Ronsford Beaton, 10 Kesrick Williams, 11 Shannon Gabriel

Article source:


Best Wordpress Plugin development company in India     Best Web development company in India

Related posts

Tom Curran’s comeback puts brothers back on course for all-format dominance

Times of News

Mandhana’s KSL feats down to ‘freedom to swing bat’

Times of News

Ankle sprain causes injury scare for Vijay

Times of News