New Zealand opt to bat; Gayle returns

Toss New Zealand opt to bat v West Indies
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Chris Gayle returned from an illness that kept him out of the second ODI, but Jason Holder called wrong at the toss as New Zealand elected to bat in the third and final match at the Hagley Oval in overcast Christchurch. The match was to be played on the same surface where New Zealand posted 322 three nights ago.

By not tinkering too much with their XI, the hosts, 2-0 up, expressed a clear statement of intent that they were looking to complete a whitewash. The only change was the inclusion of allrounder Mitchell Santner in place of fast bowler Doug Bracewell.

West Indies, meanwhile, made as many as three changes, two of those in the batting department alone in a bid to reverse their fortunes after being bowled out for 121 on Saturday.

Gayle and Chadwick Walton replaced the pair of Evin Lewis, who injured his leg, and Shimron Hetmyer, while Ronsford Beaton, the fast bowler who was reported for an illegal bowling action in the second ODI, made way for left-arm spinner Nikita Miller.

West Indies, who also lost the Test series 2-0, are still searching for their first win on tour.

New Zealand: 1 George Worker, 2 Colin Munro, 3 Neil Broom, 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Tom Latham (capt, wk), 6 Henry Nicholls, 7 Mitchell Santner, 8 Todd Astle, 9 Matt Henry, 10 Lockie Ferguson, 11 Trent Boult

West Indies: 1 Chris Gayle, 2 Chadwick Walton, 3 Shai Hope(w), 4 Kyle Hope, 5 Jason Mohammed, 6 Jason Holder (capt), 7 Rovman Powell, 8 Ashley Nurse, 9 Nikita Miller, 10 Sheldon Cottrell, 11 Shannon Gabriel

Article source:


Related posts

Ramesh Powar May Not Get Extension As Women’s Team Coach

Times of News

Need thick skin to take on ‘absolute genius’ Andre Russell, says Chris Morris

Times of News

Sourav Ghosal cruises into finals of Pittsburg Open squash

Times of News