New Zealand bowl; Iyer, Nehra included

Toss: New Zealand chose to bowl v India
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson chose to bowl with “quite a bit of dew around” at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi. India captain Virat Kohli said he would have bowled first as well. India strengthened their bowling attack by fielding five specialist bowlers, including Ashish Nehra for his final professional game.

Shreyas Iyer was given his international debut, slotting in at No. 4, while allrounders Hardik Pandya and Axar Patel moved one spot higher, to No. 6 and 7 respectively. “In T20 cricket, you should try to play one batsman less and one batsman more,” Kohli explained at the toss.

For the first time on this tour, New Zealand included two specialist spinners in their XI, drafting in legspinner Ish Sodhi to partner left-arm spinner Mitchell Santner. Batsman Tom Bruce was the other change in New Zealand’s XI from the ODI team.

India: 1 Shikhar Dhawan, 2 Rohit Sharma, 3 Virat Kohli (capt.), 4 Shreyas Iyer, 5 MS Dhoni (wk), 6 Hardik Pandya, 7 Axar Patel, 8 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 9 Jasprit Bumrah, 10 Ashish Nehra, 11 Yuzvendra Chahal

New Zealand: 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Kane Williamson (capt.), 3 Colin Munro, 4 Tom Bruce, 5 Tom Latham (wk), 6 Henry Nicholls, 7 Colin de Grandhomme, 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Trent Boult, 10 Tim Southee, 11 Ish Sodhi

Article source:


Related posts

Shoaib Malik to lead as Umar Akmal, Junaid recalled

Times of News

England’s batting maelstrom squanders another opportunity

Times of News

Australia attempt BBL reboot against New Zealand

Times of News