Kings XI Punjab make four changes, opt to field at Eden Gardens

Toss Kings XI Punjab chose to bowl v Kolkata Knight Riders

Kings XI Punjab won the toss and chose to field against Kolkata Knight Riders on a green-tinged pitch at Eden Gardens.

Although both teams won their first games of the tournament – Knight Riders beat Sunrisers Hyderabad following an Andre Russell blitz, while Kings XI suffocated a Rajasthan Royals chase – only Knight Riders have opted to field an unchanged XI.

Kings XI have made as many as four changes, in fact. Out went wicketkeeper-batsman Nicholas Pooran, with David Miller coming into the side, and KL Rahul taking the gloves. Also out was Sam Curran (who leaked 52 runs in his four overs on Monday), to be replaced by Hardus Viljoen. Why seamer Ankit Rajpoot and offspinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman have been left out was tougher to explain, but they have been replaced by legspinner Varun Chakravarthy, and last year’s top IPL wicket-taker, seamer Andrew Tye.

Kolkata Knight Riders: 1 Chris Lynn, 2 Sunil Narine, 3 Robin Uthappa, 4 Nitish Rana, 5 Shubman Gill, 6 Dinesh Karthik (capt wk), 7 Andre Russell, 8 Piyush Chawla, 9 Kuldeep Yadav, 10 Lockie Ferguson, 11 Prasidh Krishna

Kings XI Punjab: 1 Chris Gayle, 2 KL Rahul (wk), 3 Mayank Agarwal, 4 Sarfaraz Khan, 5 David Miller, 6 Mandeep Singh, 7 Andrew Tye, 8 R Ashwin (capt), 9 Mohammed Shami, 10 Hardus Viljoen, 11 Varun Chakravarthy


Related posts

Ireland to build new stadium to meet needs of Test era

Times of News

Jonty Rhodes Applies For Position Of India’s Fielding Coach

Times of News

Sutherland denies spot-fixing allegations

Times of News