Lok Sabha Election

33% of newly-elected MPs from Odisha are women

The Women’s Reservation Bill might still be tentative in Parliament, though 33% of a possibilities from Odisha inaugurated to a Lok Sabha are women, that too representing opposite sections of society.

Seven of sum 21 MPs from Odisha are women. While 5 women have won a elections on Biju Janata Dal tickets, dual go to a BJP. They embody a former IAS officer, a doctor, an engineer, a grassroots-level leader, a member of earlier stately family, and a homemaker.

Ever given Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik announced that his party, a BJD, would margin 33% women candidates, it was approaching that a illustration of women would go up.

Of a 7 women possibilities fielded by Mr. Patnaik, 5 emerged winning while of dual of a 3 BJP women possibilities won.

Aparajita Sarangi, a former IAS officer who had a repute of an means administrator, tasted success in her electoral debut. In Nov 2018, Ms Sarangi, a ex-Odisha cadre officer who final served as a Joint Secretary in a Ministry of Rural Development, had assimilated a BJP. She won a Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha seat, a citadel of statute BJD.

Pramila Bisoyi has been in news right from her assignment as a BJD claimant from Aska Lok Sabha seat. For a 68-year-old belonging to a common rancher family, politics was altogether a opposite world. But a Chief Minister reposed faith in her since of her impasse in a women’s self-help organisation transformation for 18 years. Aska being a BJD bastion, her feat was never doubted.

Chandrani Murmu, a 25-year-old genealogical lady who won from Keonjhar on a BJD ticket, has already purebred her name in a record book for being a youngest member to be inaugurated to a Lok Sabha. Ms. Murmu has warranted a BTech grade from a Bhubaneswar-based engineering college.

BJP personality Sangeeta Singh Deo, a stately member of earlier Patnagarh estate, is not new to politics. She had won Balangir thrice before.

Rajashree Mallick, who was an associate highbrow in pathology dialect of SCB Medical College and Hospital in Cuttack before fasten politics, won a coastal Jagatsinghpur chair on a BJD ticket.

Other dual BJD leaders who successfully ran in a elections embody Sarmistha Sethi, who had taken intentional retirement from Odisha Financial Services to quarrel contest, and Manjulata Mandal, a housewife. Ms. Sethi and Ms. Mandal won Jajpur and Bhadrak seats resectively .

Article source: https://www.thehindu.com/elections/lok-sabha-2019/33-of-newly-elected-mps-from-odisha-are-women/article27250492.ece


Related posts

Bomb-making element seized from comparison citizen’s building in Pune district

Times of News

‘We have capacity to implement NYAY scheme’

Times of News

Mock check information not privileged in 44 Tamil Nadu booths, EC decides to count usually VVPAT slips

Times of News