Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Grand Alliance names RJD, Congress candidates for second…

Putting to rest the confusion over the claims of its constituent parties on the Katihar seat, the Grand Alliance (GA) leaders on Sunday allocated five seats, going to the polls during the second phase, among Congress and RJD.

Addressing a joint press conference, GA leaders Ram Chandra Purbe of RJD and Harkhu Jha of Congress said that the Congress would field its candidates from Kishanganj, Purnia and Katihar, while the RJD nominees would contest from Bhagalpur and Banka. Polling on all five seats will take place on April 18.

State RJD chief Purbe said that sitting MPs of Bhagalpur and Banka, Shailesh Kumar and Jay Prakash Narayan Yadav, would contest from the same constituencies.

Congress leader Maulana Asrarul Haque represented Kishanganj in Lok Sabha until he died in December last year. Former MP Tariq Anwar, who joined Congress recently, had won the Katihar seat as a Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) candidate. Former BJP MP from Purnia, Udai Singh, has joined the Congress and expecting to contest from the same constituency.

Harkhu Jha said that the GA nominees would win all 40 seats in Bihar, as every seat was being decided after thorough brain storming by senior leaders of the coalition and people of the state were in the mood for change.

Also Read | Disgruntled political bigwigs may upset poll calculations for both NDA and GA in Bihar

Bihar Pradesh Congress Committee (BPCC) president Madan Mohan Jha, who was in Delhi to attend crucial meetings with All India Congress Committee (AICC) leaders, said the candidates to contest the three LS constituencies in Seemanchal would be named soon.

According to a press communique issued by AICC general secretary Mukul Wasnik in Delhi late evening Mohammad Javed, Udai Singh alias Pappu Singh and Tariq Anwar have been declared the party’s nominees to contest from Kishanganj, Purnia and Katihar respectively.

State unit general secretary of Upendra Kushwaha-led RLSP Satyanand Dagi and state chief of Jitan Ram Manjhi-led Hindustani Awam Morcha-Secumar BL Baisantri were present at the conference.

Lok Sabha Election 2019: All you need to know about Bihar

First Published:
Mar 25, 2019 17:17 IST

Article source:


Best Wordpress Plugin development company in India     Best Web development company in India

Related posts

Four die in suspected hooch tragedy in dry Bihar; SHO, four cops suspended

Times of News

Pune student languishes in Bihar jail after cops suspended

Times of News

Raids on illegal abattoirs save truck driver in Bihar

Times of News