Lok Sabha Elections 2019: After 2014 reverse, RJD looks to regain hold on stronghold…

One of the eight seats in Bihar that voted on Sunday, Vaishali saw a voter turnout of61.56%,according to the Voter Turnout app of the Election Commission of India. Bihar, which has 40 seats, will now see voting for its remaining eight seats on May 19.

Former union minister and five-term MP Raghuvansh Prasad Singh of the Rashtriya Janata Dal — also known as one of the chief architects of the National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme — contested against Lok Janshakti Party’s Veena Devi, wife of Janata Dal (United) corporator Dinesh Singh. In 2014, he lost to Rama Kishore Singh of LJP, an ally of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

In Vaishali, caste arithmetic plays a vital role. Singh will have banked on RJD’s support base of Muslims and Yadavs, besides Rajput votes, and those that the Grand Alliance of the RJD and Congress among others, will bring in, including Extremely Backward Castes and OBCs

Also Read | Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Police open fire in West Champaran after MP claims mob attack

First Published:
May 13, 2019 09:17 IST

Article source:


Related posts

Nitish Kumar begins his Nischay Yatra from Champaran to review development programmes

Times of News

Missing for 3 days, 16-year-old witness in Bihar shelter home case found

Times of News

Lok Sabha elections 2019 |’Modi’s popularity, Nitish’s work will pay us rich dividends’:…

Times of News