BJP wins Dehri assembly bypoll, Rashtriya Janata Dal runner-up

Riding the Modi wave, the Bharatiya Janata Party has won the assembly by-election from the Dehri constituency.

BJP candidate Satyanarayan Singh has defeated Mohammad Firoz Husain of Rashtriya Janata Dal by a margin of 33,971 votes. Singh got 71,845 votes, while Husain got 37,874 votes.

The Dehri assembly bypoll was held after Iliyas Hussain was declared disqualified by the court following his conviction in the alkatra (tar) scam.

Read more: RJD rout puts Tejashwi Yadav under pressure ahead of Bihar assembly polls

The Dehri assembly segment falls under the Karakat parliamentary constituency and BJP had made Singh, a Yadav, its candidate to woo the community, which has a good vote share in Karakat.

Pradeep Kumar Joshi, former Dehri MLA and Rashtra Sewa Dal candidate, got 14,594 votes. Braj Mohan Singh of CPI came fourth with 4,226 votes, followed by 3,542 NOTA votes.

First Published:
May 24, 2019 16:01 IST

Article source:


Best Wordpress Plugin development company in India     Best Web development company in India

Related posts

BSP may go solo in Bihar, to contest all 40 Lok Sabha seats in state

Times of News

भाजपा विधायक को धमकी, चुनाव लड़ोगी …

Times of News

15 out of 21 students of Abhayanand Super 30 crack JEE Advanced 2019

Times of News