KDP Pen to Publish Contest winners announced

Amazon has announced the winners of the second Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP) Pen to Publish Contest.

The Hindu Lit For Life was a literary partner for the annual contest that celebrates the work of self-published authors across genres in longform and shortform categories. KDP was present during The Hindu Lit For Life 2019, where they invited entries for the contest.

The winning authors for longform writing received a prize of ₹5 lakh each, while those for shortform received ₹50,000 each. Additionally, all finalists received a Kindle e-reader.

To encourage authors of regional languages, this year’s edition was open to entries in Hindi and Tamil, in addition to English.

Future talent

Sanjeev Jha, Head-Content Acquisition and Demand, Kindle Content, India said: “We launched the KDP Pen to Publish Contest two years back as a way to celebrate fascinating stories by talented upcoming writers and to raise awareness about their work for readers to enjoy.”

Following are the winners for this year’s contest in longform writing (10,000 words and above): Escape Routes: Short Stories (English edition) by Aparna Das Sadhukan in the genre literature and fiction; Neeli (Hindi edition) by Nandini Kumar in the same genre; and Parangi Malai Irayil Nilayam, Detective Karthick Aldo series Book 2, (Tamil Edition) by Senthil Balan in the genre mystery and thriller.

Winners of shortform writing (2,000 and 10,000 words) are: Being a mother: It’s a different hormone altogether (English edition) by Deepika Priya in the genre Health, Mind and Body; Aatman (Hindi edition) by Anurakti in the poetry genre; and Kuthattam Poda seiyyum Isai, an article about the poetry of music (Tamil edition) by Vignesh C. Selvaraj in the genre literature and fiction.

The winning titles were chosen on the basis of several criteria including creativity, originality, quality of writing and commercial viability.

The jury panel for the contest included bestselling authors Ashwin Sanghi, Rashmi Bansal, Sundari Venkatraman, Divya Prakash Dubey and Era. Murugan. The top six winners were shortlisted from thousands of entries across the globe over a span of three months.

Article source:


Best Wordpress Plugin development company in India     Best Web development company in India