Chennai-Coimbatore Shatabdi to stop at Katpadi temporarily

Shatabdi Express running on Chennai Central-Coimbatore-Chennai Central route will stop at Katpadi junction on experimental basis for six months.

On Wednesday, M. Thambi Durai, Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker, flagged off the stoppage at Katpadi.

Naveen Gulati, Divisional Railway Manager, Chennai division, Southern Railway, told reporters that such stoppages start on experimental basis and will be reviewed. “We will look at the patronage. We will decide on the basis of people’s opinion,” he said.

With this, the service will have five stoppages – Katpadi, Jolarpet, Salem, Erode and Tiruppur – between Chennai Central and Coimbatore. This move, according to Southern Railway, will benefit people of Vellore district and large sections of business class travellers, a press release said.

It was in November 2014 that Linke Hoffman Busche coaches were introduced in the Chennai-Coimbatore Shatabdi Express service. As a gift for passengers on Republic Day this year, “Anubhuti” coach was inducted in the service. This coach features additional facilities such as reclining chairs, infotainment TV, LED reading lights and attendant call buttons.

The Shatabdi rake has seven AC chair cars, one AC Executive chair car and one Anubhuti chair car, the release said.

The trains will stop for a minute at Katpadi junction.

The express train No. 12243 from Chennai will arrive in Katpadi at 8.53 a.m. and leave at 8.54 a.m. The one bearing No. 12244 from Coimbatore will arrive in Katpadi at 8.14 p.m. and leave at 8.15 p.m.

Unmanned level-crossing

Mr. Gulati said all unmanned level-crossings in Chennai division had been eliminated.

G. Hari, Member of Parliament (MP), Arakkonam, said he had met the Union Minister for Railways and put forward the need to take up improvement works on the Railway Bridge at Katpadi to ease traffic congestion. On the works on Tindivanam-Nagari rail route, Mr. Hari said that he, along with the MPs of Arni and Tiruvannamalai, had raised the issue in Parliament on the need to expedite the works. Necessary funds the works had been sought.

The MP also submitted petitions to the Southern Railway officials requesting stoppage of Brindavan Express (train numbers 12639/12640) at Sholinghur station, and stoppage of Chennai Central-Thiruvananthapuram train (train numbers 12623/12624) at Arakkonam junction.

He said that EMU train number 43936 would start from Arakkonam at 7.50 a.m. daily towards Velacherry.

The train could start from Tiruttani station at 7.30 a.m. instead of Arakkonam as commuters were facing hardship to travel towards Chennai due to insufficient EMU trains between 7 a.m. and 8.50 a.m. at Tiruttani. He said he had made a request in this regard.

Commercial Taxes Minister K.C. Veeramani, Collector S.A. Raman and K. Manoj, Additional DRM, were present on the occasion.

Article source:


Best Wordpress Plugin development company in India     Best Web development company in India

Related posts

The Chennai Corporation looks to spend ₹7,500 cr. to give bus routes a makeover

Times of News

Card readers, ticket machines on the blink at many stations

Times of News

Rains relent in Chennai

Times of News